Clubs New Zealand Fishing Competition

Hosted by Te Anau Fishing Club

Chairperson: Neil McDowell

Minute Taker: Rebecca Jones

Neil McDowell welcomed everyone to the meeting at the Te Anau Club on Saturday the 15th March starting at 6pm and asked for a minutes silence to remember everyone who has passed since the last meeting

Apologies: none

Matters arising from the last meeting: minutes supplied to those who had not read these and nothing brought up

Motioned by Gorge Road

Seconded by Invercargill

Matters Arising: Next years tournament:

Kaiapoi have advised that they are unable to host next year's tournament so call for any clubs willing to host?

Peter Boerlage from Rangiora RSA advised that they have had a discussion and they are happy to host it next year they did have a few concerns regarding pulling this together at short notice and that they had approached the RSA with weekends that they maybe able to host this and they came up with 27th and 28th March 2026 as the weekend before the venue was being used and the following weekend is Easter so they have tentatively booked that in.

Hornby supported this and all other clubs supported this

Application for future tournaments:

The question was asked if anyone would consider hosting 2027? No one answered.

General Business:

Alistair from Makarewa brought up that the weigh in had been changed 2.30pm to 5pm but the website said 5.30pm however an email had been sent out and all were happy with that.

Darren from Ashburton emphasised the need to push the junior section more as they are losing club members due to age so would be good to push the junior section and recognise them more with prizes.

Dianne from Te Anau brought up that maybe the event could be run over 2 days instead of 1 as a lot of people have to travel from afar for the competition and registering at 4pm on day one and being weighed in by 5pm the next did not leave enough time for fishing.

It was mentioned that people are able to plan ahead for this so should be able to make it work to take time if needed.

As this is a rule change it would need to be remitted and confirmed and as not all clubs were present this may need to go to an AGM to be brought up so Neil advised that this would be put forward to the NZ Clubs association to be considered to see what the outcome is.

Proposal is for fishing to start at 7am on Friday and they can fish till 5.30pm on Saturday

Hornby Seconded and all in favour: all clubs

Discussion then started around the challenge of the registration as this will then be the day before (Thursday) and early the next morning and trying to get volunteers to help with this may be an issue so it was discussed that this could all be done online as they still have to provide there fishing licence and club membership numbers when registering online.

The percentage of people that already register online out weights the number of those who do not and they could still register the day before but possibly not the next morning before the fishing commences at 7am the next morning but they could then register on the Friday night after fishing for the day.

All other aspects of the competition stay the same the only thing that changes is the start time to give more time to fish ie start at 7am instead of 5pm on Friday.

The question was asked if the weigh in closes at 5.00 but they haven't been weighed in will this still be accepted. Yes as long as you are in the line.

If the weigh in is only on the last day and the fish was caught on the first day early the fish may have deteriorated so how will this work? Maybe 2 weigh in times instead of one.

When people register can they please clearly print email addresses as they have had issues with emails bouncing back due to being unable to read.

No further matters

Metting closed at 6.30pm

DELEGATES PRESENT:

Gary & Glenys Egerton
Roydon Sutherland & Dale Meyer
Ray Hill & Robbie Green
Jason & Darren Smith
Paul Jackson & Alistair Lindsay
John Rawlinson & Graeme Smith
Maurice Nutira
Dianne Drysdale & Mike Johnston
Paula Shaw & Tony Lee
Josh Moir & Roger Stratford
Peter Boerlage
Ally Hanson & Daryl Cater
Kerry Ryan

Gore Town and Country Club
Alexandra District Club
Papanui
Hornby Working Mans Club
Makarewa Working Mans Club
2NZRF
Kaiapoi Working Mans Club
Te Anau
Invercargill Working Mans Club
Gorge Road
Rangiora RSA
Ashburton MSA
Hokitika