



Location: Richmond Club

Date: 23 march 2024

Time:6.15pm



Clubs New Zealand Fishing Competition Hosted by Richmond Fishing Section

Chairperson: Maurice Nutria

Minute Taker: Victoria Daley

Brent Hobbs (Chairperson of Richmond Fishing section, welcomed everyone for attending the meeting. Introduced Maurice Nutria who would be chairing the meeting.

Maurice welcomed everyone for attending and asked for a minute's silence to remember members who have passed since our last meeting.

Apologies: Nil

Matters Arising from previous minutes:

One of the delegates from Gorge Road questioned the cost of the hire of a marquee

He questioned the logic of the cost for the marquee and asked if the funds used would have been put to better use.

Chair person explained to the delegate that as the hall was not available the section decided to arrange the marquee.

The marquee was donated and therefore did not cost the Fishing section anything.

Questions was asked if it was donated why was it in the expenditure column.

The chairperson responded that although it was donated it still had to be carried across to the expenditure column to ensure balance of the books. The delegate accepted this explanation.

Motion to be accepted by George Campbell - Richmond Seconded Chris Maddy - Kaiapoi.

Next years tournament will be held in Te Anau. The Chair asked if there were any applications received as yet for next year and whether there had been any dates set for this tournament.

Diane Rysdale from Te Anau explained that at present the dates were set for 21st to 22nd of March 2025, but the club was flexible and would look at changing the dates if required. Te Anau club could look at 6 weeks either side of the above dates if required. It was suggested that the 13 and 14th of March could be a good time. The chair suggested that the club contact Kate from Clubs New Zealand. The chair asked if any clubs would consider hosting the competition in 2026, delegates were to go back to their clubs. If a club did consider hosting, they need to send a letter of intent to Kate at Clubs New Zealand who will then pass on the information to all the clubs. Kaiapoi have indicated they are prepared to host for 2026.

Action point Te Anau to sent to Clubs NZ and Richmond club a letter of intent to host the 2025 competition. (Within two months of this meeting)

Peter Boerlage from Papanui club asked to discuss some remits. The chair person had not sighted a copy of the remits. Most delegates stated that they had seen them. The chair asked the room if everyone was happy to discuss the remits and all agreed.

- 1) Remits to discuss were Tournament rules
- 2) Hosting rules.

Peter explained to the group that he had changed the format for the rules to allow a better understanding for everyone.

For example, if someone had a question regarding a rule, they could quote the rule number and paragraph.

Peter felt that it would make it a lot easier for the club hosting the competition.

Question was asked if the meeting was to be called a AGM (Where any one can attend, or do they prefer it to be called a delegate's meeting. General discussion was that it was preferred that it be a delegates meeting to avoid the meeting going on to long unnecessarily.

Present hosting rules state that Rule 13 – Paragraph 13 that it is an AGM.

Nigel Henegan from Cromwell moved that rule 13 be changed to a Delegates meeting only.

Tony Lee from Invercargill seconded the notion.

Motion carried

The group agreed that Peter Boerlage would change the wording and he would also tidy up the competition rules. Once the changes have been made Peter will send them to Kate from Clubs New Zealand and she will ensure all the delegates receive a copy to share with their members.

George Campbell wanted to thank Brent Hobbs for all his hard work in making the tournament a success. Brent has spent many hours organizing this event to ensure it was a success, and everyone agreed that Brent had done a great job.

George also wanted to acknowledge Peter Boerlage from Papanui for all his hard work ensuring the administration side is accurate.

DELEGATES PRESENT:

Dale Meyer & Roydon Sutherland	Alexandera District Club
George Campbell & Brent Hobbs	Richmond Club
Nigel Hennigan & Eric Yeo	Cromwell Club
Georgia Levington & Steve Levington	New Brighton Club
Mike Johnston & Diann Rysdale	Te Anau
Gary Egerton & Glenys Egerton	Gore Town and Country Club
Chirs Manning & Graeme Wylie	Kaiapoi
Tony Lee & Peter Shaw	Invercargill Working Mens Club
Ray Waghorn & Roger Stratford	Gorge Road Country Club
Robbie Green & Peter Boerlage	Papanui
Jaren Smith & Paul Templeton	Hornby